Harvick In Good Shape After Chicagoland Speedway

Kevin Harvick wasn’t able to pick up the win at the Chicagoland Speedway yesterday, but he didn’t do anything to squander his chances of advancing to the Challenger Round in the Chase Grid either.

#4 finished the night in 5th place, as Brad Keselowski started the playoffs the same way he ended the regular season, with a win. But Harvick’s top 5 finish marks the ninth time out 27 races this season that the Stuart-Haas Racing driver has achieved this feat. It’s pretty clear that consistency is going to be vital in the new Sprint Cup Playoff format and Harvick has started the right way.

Despite Keselowski splitting a gap between Harvick and Kyle Larson with 16 laps to go, eventually leading to his victory, the #4 driver led the race for 79 laps, gaining him bonus points for leading the race longer than any other driver. These bonus points mean Harvick is 4th overall in the point standings coming out of Chicagoland.

It could have been a different story altogether with Harvick possibly taking the checkered flag, but restarts caused the #4 car to lose ground on Larson and eventually Keselowski who’s cars had just that much more to offer down the stretch.

On the other hand, a 5th place finish is excellent when you consider the trouble #4 encountered. Starting 12th, then dropping to 21st after having to check back to pit road due to the possibility of a wheel coming loose. Before climbing his way back into the top 5.

It was clear the #4 car had been through quite a lot throughout the race, as the final 16 laps saw not only #2 (Keselowski) and #42 (Larson) over take, but Jeff Gordon and Joey Lugano also managed to find away past Harvick as the race came to an end.

All in all, Harvick did more than enough to continue his run of form and enhance his chances of Sprint Cup glory.

Here’s how it all finished up at the Chicagoland Speedway:

1, Brad Keselowski
2, Jeff Gordon
3, Kyle Larson
4, Joey Logano
5, Kevin Harvick
6, Denny Hamlin
7, Kyle Busch
8, Kurt Busch
9, Jamie McMurray
10, Matt Kenseth
11, Dale Earnhardt Jr.
12, Jimmie Johnson
13, Kasey Kahne
14, Martin Truex Jr.
15, Ryan Newman
16, Austin Dillon
17, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
18, Tony Stewart
19, Danica Patrick
20, Carl Edwards
21, Paul Menard
22, AJ Allmendinger
23, Greg Biffle
24, Brian Vickers
25, Marcos Ambrose
26, Casey Mears
27, Justin Allgaier
28, Landon Cassill
29, Reed Sorenson
30, Cole Whitt
31, David Ragan
32, Michael McDowell
33, Josh Wise
34, David Gilliland
35, Alex Bowman
36, Joe Nemechek
37, Joey Gase
38, Travis Kvapil
39, Clint Bowyer
40, Michael Annett
41, Aric Almirola
42, Ryan Truex
43, Mike Bliss


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on September 15, 2014 by in Nascar and tagged , , , , .
%d bloggers like this: